Like An Out Of Body Experience

image-04-700x522      I  haven’t written anything for a while. Bridget has been busy working and I have been busy at the house keeping things together, being with the kids, looking around for and applying for jobs & going out at night when I can to play, make new acquaintances & maintenance friendships. The weird part is that if I were to stop and think at all about where I am or what I’m doing it starts to feel like an out of body experience, like somehow this is not really happening, or that it’s a lucid dream.  The new normal is not to think so much as just do. I’ve never lived like that before and it’s eerie sometimes to not have any clear idea of what is coming around the corner. I’m beginning to like it but I think there’s a lot that hasn’t been processed yet.
The fact that I drove back from my Dad’s funeral to start packing for the trip the next day is probably part of it. The loose ends and missed call opportunities that an 8 hour difference bring sticks to me sometimes. There are some loose ends. So I look at this as life 3.0 if the kids were 2.0. Bridget and I talk about how this has brought us into a deeper bond with each other. It has, and the comfortable predictability I knew before is a memory.
Bridget and I each have our own spheres of activity and friends. I’m always proud of what she is able to do.  She gets on so well but I feel she doesn’t give herself enough cred. I know her friends better than she knows mine but that’s because of the difference in work lifestyles and not for any dubious reason. Spheres will collide if one of my mates gets on well with Bridget’s girl pal. I see a lot of people everyday that I know.  I know them from school and from the pub up the street where I put in a lot of time playing music and enjoying a wee bit o craic. I see people on walks around the neighborhood and there’s always conversation.  I’ve been to house parties and jam sessions that have gone until 6am. I’ve sung along with a room full of people singing together, sometimes they’re singing really good harmonies btw. There’s been lilting and some winding. I have a bud who can talk to me about his chick problems while his son and my little guys play and run. I still feel a little funny when I go out with such a close knit group.  They’re like the family you always had in your mind that you would like when you were having a tough time.  One of my friends asks me ” Jaaysus, how ya gettin on with all this? I know how strange ya must feel. I felt the same when I moved here. Great to have ya here man.”  That awkwardness will disappear after a while. As friend said the other night  “aaah..ya aint as green as you used to be…”

Finn and Nola have been out of school for a few days with some nasty coughing. We got them to the doc the other day and found out that Finn has a light form of asthma. Nola has pneumonia in one lung 😦 She’s bundled in for the week with a nasty antibiotic to knock it out. Their sprits are unaffected by all the illness. They’re still hyper as hell, thank God.  Finny’s teacher says it’s the weather. I didn’t want to complain about the weather. It’s beyond amazing how well they’ve adjusted to the move.  Now they just have to get out of the woods.

About The Curtis / McCullough Contingency

We're a family out of southern California transported into Connemara, Ireland. This is our story of why, when, where and how & hopefully a well attended to living narrative of life v 3.0. My hope is that it will be less of an operating manual and travelogue and more of a personal outlet that leads a viewer to reverse engineer the content to put together their own unique picture of what they might be going through if they were in our shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Like An Out Of Body Experience

  1. Jerry Gontang says:

    I’m ready and waiting for some more posts. If I miss them and don’t get back here any time soon I hope you have a wonderful holiday season and know that you are thought of, talked about, and missed on a regular basis. Aloha

    Like

Leave a Reply

