The view for today

photo-2

photo-1

This is what noon looks like.

There’s supposed to be cold snap coming today. Much of the north on down to Connacht is supposed to be getting at least some sleet. Does it look cold in the pictures? It is, but this is pretty normal and, it’s really not that cold. If you can manage with high 30sF then that’s about as bad as it’s gonna get. It does go right through you though. That’s why people talk about it a lot.

We made it to the other side of Christmas too. Santa got the kids most of what they wanted and we got to spend an evening with some relatives, which really counts when they’re as busy as they are. The kids got much needed scooters and legos. They really like the scooters and they’re back into going out even when it’s bad outside.  I’m still trolling for work. I played three jobs since moving here and I’m still getting PFOs from the cover letters and CVs I’m sending. To be fair I’m only 4 months in and since the Christmas week have slacked off a little, and I’m actually singing country n getting paid for it, go figure. Bridget has multiple skills and has been able to cook for a living here, sort of.  The post Christmas shut down is coming and that means no cooking job at the Lake for a while. Most places either severely cut hours &/ or crew or they simply shut down until March. We’ll be fine, although we may have to eat noodles from time to time. I hear it’s madness from March to September. If I’m starting to get gigs and get around I think I’ll be fine by the summer. Since B will be home more ( in theory) I can go out more in the evening. It’s a juggle.

About The Curtis / McCullough Contingency

We're a family out of southern California transported into Connemara, Ireland. This is our story of why, when, where and how & hopefully a well attended to living narrative of life v 3.0. My hope is that it will be less of an operating manual and travelogue and more of a personal outlet that leads a viewer to reverse engineer the content to put together their own unique picture of what they might be going through if they were in our shoes.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The view for today

  1. Joe says:

    Thanks again for the report, Dave. Got your very clever song suggestion too, though I fear it wouldn’t work for me in the places I’m playin’. 😉

    I hear your optimism and believe it to be warranted. You’re a good man doing a good thing for your family and I believe your and B’s talents will see you through, with right mixture of patience and perseverance. 👍

    Things are slow here for the band. The agencies have all but ceased to call. But I’m sure that will change with spring. I plan on getting some new promo for the band done up too. A new demo and a picture at least. We’ll see. I still have a modicum of solo work keeping my chops up.

    All the best, Happy New Year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

